The largest class is the history of the UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame will be
inducted on Saturday, February 4, 2012.

The honorees are Dr. Charles Brown (Director of Athletics 1989-current),
Jen Dragoni (women’s lacrosse, 2000-04), Brad Green (swimming & diving
2000-04), Adam Grossman (track & field 2002-06), Ted Lawler (men’s
soccer 1994-98), Brendan Mundorf (men’s lacrosse 2002-06), Josef Novotny
(men’s tennis, 2001-04), Keith Puryear (head tennis coach ,1990-2008), and
Drew Westervelt (men’s lacrosse 2003-07).

Read more about each inductee on the UMBC Athletics website.

There are now 121 members of the UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame, which was
instituted in the 1970s, and in 1990, Dr. Brown created The Annual Hall of
Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony. This event now occurs every other
year. Candidates are nominated throughout the two-year period and are
selected for induction by a committee of current Hall of Fame members
based on their excellence in competition at UMBC and subsequent graduation
from the university.

In addition, Dr. Marvin Mandell will receive the athletic department’s Dr.
Charles Woolston Award. The award is given to an individual who provides
outstanding service to the department and strives to improve the
student-athlete experience. Dr. Mandell, a professor of policy sciences,
has served as the university’s NCAA Faculty Representative for the past
nine years.

The18th induction dinner and ceremony will take place at the Westin
Baltimore Washington Airport – BWI. The cost to attend the induction
dinner is $60, which includes a ticket to the basketball doubleheader vs.
Maine that afternoon (1:00 p.m./3:30 p.m.) at the RAC Arena. The new class
of Hall of Famers will be introduced at halftime of the men’s 3:30 game.
The dinner will begin at 7:00 p.m., with inductions to follow. Please
contact Kevin Gibbons O’Neill at 410-455-1532 or for
additional information about the event or to purchase tickets.

Similar Posts
Latest Posts from UMBC Magazine